I Just Have Big Bones

Pretty much my whole life, people have been telling me how I’m about to explode into the poster child for the American Obesity Epidemic. Because I eat—shudder! cringe! gasp!—cheese, hamburgers and ice cream. And fries. 🙂

I don’t claim to be the skinniest person on the planet, but I’m not exactly a hippo, either. In fact, most of my life, I’ve been pretty much smack dab in the Middle of my ideal body weight or BMI or what not. I supposed I could be thinner, or have a better shape. I suppose I could a lot of things better, I guess at the end of the day I figure I’m an ordinary person doing my best, as we all do in most things, and currently as a size 8, 5’7”, low blood pressure, almost a standard deviation above average on bone density, I’m sticking to the ice cream, hamburgers and fries. And cheese, don’t forget the cheese. 🙂

The thing is, bones and muscle and skin weigh something and height/weight comparisons, BMI don’t reach body composition. The stories of what people have done to their bodies through dieting are crushingly tragic, in our focus on the American Obesity Epidemic, we give short shrift to the tragedy of ProAna, and the effects of willful malnourishment, like osteoporosis, organ damage and even death.

Unfortunately, there is no quick and easy way to determine body composition. What’s the solution? Maybe in part it is taking the focus off of diet and shifting to the other half of the picture: Activity. Probably part of the reason I can eat like an NFL Draft Pick is that I walk and bike a lot. I garden and carry my own bag. I don’t think you have to run marathons, but you don’t know, walking a mile after dinner might lead to two or three and then running and a 5K and then . . . . That’s how I got into long distance biking. Once you get on a bike, you find out a mile on a bike is nothing, and even five and ten are not that far. It surprising how quickly you can find yourself going 20 or 30 miles at a time and wishing you could keep going.

Now I suppose I sound like a goody-goody. Guilty as charged. 😉

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

