Workplace Wednesday: The Information Age

There’s this thing, called the Internet.  One tool of the Internet is the “Internet Search Engine,” websites such as Yahoo! and Google.

I use Yahoo! and Google quite a bit.  I use them to research potential employers, interviewers and people I have met.  I also use them to check my web presence every few weeks.

I would suggest using Yahoo! and Google to research people.  (Of course, then you would actually have to *read* the content to get anything out of the exercise.  The alternative is you could look at my resume, which I sent you.  But, of course, there is that pesky reading again.)

Why?

  • If—as you assert you are—you’re a trusted, experienced professional in my field or a related one, reading and doing your own research is part of the game and you should know that.  Impress me that you’re the real deal and not just a buddy-up who’s there to pal around with the boss.
  • It might save you a bit of embarrassment.  Well, I assume you are embarrassed when you suggest attending college to someone who has advanced degrees.  Or maybe you’re just a jerk who thinks you’re funny.  (You’re not.)
  • Who knows?  We might know some of the same people or have something in common.  Remember, I sent you a resume.  I don’t have yours.
  • Yahoo! and Google often uncover personal information that isn’t on a resume.  It can reveal things about someone that helps you to understand them and how to interact with them.

Keep in mind, Kiddos, the job market might be tight, but whether you hire me or not, I’m still a colleague.  And you never know where I might wind up some day.

To doing your homework . . . .

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in People, Working and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

