Gluten-free Monday: A Lent without Gluten

So, this is not the first Lent when I have been gluten-free.  Both Lent and gluten-free can be frustrating on their own, how to survive the double-whammy?  And this year, I decided to revive my old standby sacrifice, sweets.

Well, it truly sucks to have skip deep-fried foods, including fried and breaded fish.  At times, it does feel like I’m living on cheese.  OK, so there is a reward.  😀  Of course, it is only Friday that is the bad day, but still, no meat, no bread.  I definitely find myself falling back on gluten-free substitutes, like rice crackers, gluten-free breads, corn products.  It also makes me realize how much I’ve come to rely on candy as a source of carbs–I like my chubby little tummy.

Of course, this is all so First World Problems.  I’m glad I have enough awareness of food and health to understand my food sensitivities and allergies, and I have the option to make voluntary diet selections, skipping things I just don’t like or I don’t feel like eating or that I exclude for a philosophical or religious purpose.

Having said that, if I lived in a lot of places, I would likely never know I was gluten sensitive because I wouldn’t be exposed to it very much, if at all.  First World Problems.

Well, there is plenty to eat in the fridge.  Yeah, it sucks I can’t have bacon in my grits on Friday mornings, but I’ll survive.  Until Saturday.  Snrt.

To a bit of creative thinking, in the kitchen or out.

 

 

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

