Gluten-free Monday: Curiouser and Curiouser

So, I went to the Dr. recently.  I keep gaining weight, and, in fact, according to my BMI, I am overweight and possibly obese.

I’m also 5’7” and a size 6/8.  (OK a 10 in styly pants, but that’s still a two to three size drop from where I was a few years ago before I gave up wheat.)

I keep clothes for a long time.  Maybe it is because I’m picky, maybe because I’m cheap, maybe because I’m a girl.  😮  Maybe because I remember the 1990s when people used to buy far fewer items of clothing per year than they do now . . . .  And I got in the habit that if it looked OK and still fit, keep it.  Apparently, the average American now purchases 68 items of clothing and 7 pairs of shoes a year, and that is double what it was twenty years ago.

I have a pair of pants that dates back to the 20th Century.  They are looser through the legs and the back than they ever were, but now they are a bit tight in the waist . . . .   Hmmm.  So, I guess I really do have a chubby tummy.  (Blame the gluten.)  Of course, if you’d asked me, I would have thought if anything my hips were bigger now, but I guess not.  Memory may be selective, but pants do not lie.

Of course, even back in the day, I had my moments (maybe some gluten-tummy, even back then?) and they didn’t always fit.  I can’t say is a goal to get into those pants to fit again, but maybe.  Either way, they are still in good shape, so I think they will stay in the closet for a while.  🙂

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

