Heartlander of the Week: Inexplicable

This week’s Heartlander is George Stinney, the youngest person executed in the 20th Century.

What is inexplicable to me about George Stinney’s story, is that it happened in the lifetimes of my grandparents and their contemporaries.  I simply don’t understand a World where something like this could have happened in the United States, but I guess it did. I’m guessing if I could ask my grandparents how this could have happened, they would probably beg off on slower pace of information and the challenges of long distance travel in the 1940’s and that why there was a Civil Rights Movement after the War.

How close we really are to this former World.  It’s scary, at least to me.  More than any horror movie.  I wish I could talk to some of the people involved to understand what they got out of such a pointless and unspeakable act.  Chasing down a convenient target and blaming a crime on them (Usual Suspects?) is bizarre and pointless enough.  But a fourteen year old child?  Who is a criminal?

To a more Enlightened Time . . . .

Night, Night.

 

 

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Heartlander, People, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

