Feast of the Epiphany

Epiphany (taken from Webster’s Online)

1 capitalized :  January 6 observed as a church festival in commemoration of the coming of the Magi as the first manifestation of Christ to the Gentiles or in the Eastern Church in commemoration of the baptism of Christ

2:  an appearance or manifestation especially of a divine being

3 a (1) :  a usually sudden manifestation or perception of the essential nature or meaning of something (2) :  an intuitive grasp of reality through something (as an event) usually simple and striking (3) :  an illuminating discovery, realization, or disclosure

b :  a revealing scene or moment

So, according to the radio, today (the Feast of the Epiphany?  First Monday in January?  First real workday of the New Year?) is one of the most depressive days of the year.  Well, I guess that makes sense.  All the troubles we laughed off and partied away for the past six weeks come roaring back, along with all of the trouble generated by partying away for six weeks.

I have long admitted to being totally boring, so perhaps one of the advantages of the boring life is actually liking January on some level.  I get the boost of a sense of renewal, another bite at the apple, as it were, a new year, new possibilities, new opportunities, new chances.

And with that, I do believe it is a time for a blog reboot.  I went past 300 postings last month, in the middle of intermittent postings through my flu haze.  Upon reflection, while I will continue to post on gluten-free from time to time, I think it is time to dispense with Gluten-Free Monday.  Likewise, Workplace Wednesday just isn’t working.  However, I will continue with my Friday feature, Heartlander of the Week.  Beyond that, I think it is time to get back to basics:  Life in the Middle.  Middle Generations, Middle Class, Flyover States, those abandoned in the Middle of Nowhere.  Not that I think I ever truly departed from that theme, rather it is a matter of blatant and subtle.  I cannot guarantee that it will always be kind or positive, but it will be polite.  🙂

To 2014, to better times, to the best of times, to everything that isn’t and could be.

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Heartlander, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment