Musings of a Recovering Clutterbug, Episode 7: To Thine Own Self Be True

So, you are committed to a decluttered home and life. Where to begin? The Beginning. Where is The Beginning? Ah, that’s the question.

I think this is one of the most challenging aspects of personal and home organizing, because the reality is, it isn’t the same place for everyone. For me, it is drawers, closets, cabinets and nooks and crannies. Once I have all of my “storage” spaces organized, I can then put away everything that is making a mess in the “right” place, or I can go out and get some additional storage items and put away everything that doesn’t have a place. Of course, that means tolerating some continued scatter while I figure out the deep dark hidey-holes, but you have to begin somewhere and the best place to begin is The Beginning, and—as far as organizing goes for me—I have to begin at my own personal Beginning, which “away” wherever away is.

I also generally find that I need to tackle bed and bath first, then public spaces. (Keeping the Kitchen straight is never a problem for me.) I don’t know why that is, perhaps it reflects the fact that I am a rather private person and it is more important for me to have my private self in order rather than my public self. Or maybe it is that sleeping and grooming are simpler than the whole rest of life.

That’s what works for me: Maybe it is not what works for you. I honestly believe you need to find the path that works for you. Once you do, everything gets easier. Figure out where your starting point is and work from there. Figure out where your weak spots are and work on them. I never have a problem organizing spaces. My struggle is making the time get all the new stuff into its space and replace the things that got taken out. Other people are fine with putting things away, but have no sense of where “away” should be. What is obvious for one person is a challenge for the next and vice versa.

As they say in FaceBook Land, never compare your inner self to someone else’s highlight reel.

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in People, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

