Gluten-free Monday: Gluten-free High Altitude Cupcakes

So, I decided to make cupcakes with my new cupcake pan last week. I was so desperate for cupcakes, I could even wait to pick up liners from the store. Instead I used my special cupcake removal tool and counted on the newness of the no-stick pan to get me through. (Which actually worked.)

photo-9

As always, I turned to my old friend, the Magnolia Bakery Cookbook.   The Traditional Vanilla Birthday Cake recipe is one my favorites. I like the Magnolia Bakery recipes, and you can find them at your local library, bookstores, or Amazon and Alibris.

Vanilla Birthday (Cake) Cupcake

1 cup—2 sticks—unsalted butter

2 cups sugar

4 large eggs

1 ½ cups self-rising flour

1 ¼ cups all purpose flour

1 cup milk

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix the butter and sugar, then mix in eggs, one at a time. Mix the dry ingredients together. Add vanilla to milk. Now add approximately ¼ of the dry ingredients to the butter/egg/sugar. Then add 1/3 of the milk. Continue to alternate adding dry ingredients a quarter at a time and milk a third at a time ending with dry ingredients. For a cake, bake in three 9×2 inch pans for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees. For cupcakes, makes two dozen 2-inch cupcakes, bake for 20-22 minutes at 350 degrees.

Adapt to gluten-free? Easy peasy. And then! I realize I don’t have gluten-free self-rising flour. I find various substitutes using regular flour, baking powder and salt. I chose the proportions ¾ cup of flour (a mix of King Arthur gluten free and corn masa), 1 teaspoon baking powder, ¼ teaspoon salt.

Ready to go and then! How do I adapt this delicate recipe not only for gluten-free, but high altitude?

The interwebs to the rescue. This excellente website (www.goodlifeeats.com)with useful tips for adjusting cake and cupcakes for high altitude.

Specific changes I made for high altitude:

  1. Increased the oven temperature 25 degrees
  2. Reduced sugar by 1/8th
  3. Added ¼ cup of whole plain yogurt (I added it to the full amount of milk called for in the recipe and mixed it until smooth)
  4. Used minimum cooking time

To adapt to gluten free, I used mostly King Arthur gluten-free flour to substitute both the all purpose flour and the self-rising flour. I was a little short on gluten-free flour, so as alluded to above, I used some corn masa to make up the difference. I also threw in about 1/2 a teaspoon of golden flax.

Final recipe? See below. However, I believe you could use these adaptations to alter any cupcake recipe to suit high altitude or gluten-free or both.

photo-10

Gluten-free, high altitude Vanilla Birthday (Cake) Cupcake

1 cup—2 sticks—unsalted butter

1 3/4 cups sugar

4 large eggs

2 3/8 cups King Arthur all purpose gluten-free flour

3/8 cup corn masa

2 teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon salt

½ teaspoon golden flax

1 cup milk

¼ cup plain whole milk yogurt

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix the butter and sugar, then mix in eggs, one at a time. Mix the dry ingredients together. Add vanilla and yogurt to milk. Now add approximately ¼ of the dry ingredients to the butter/egg/sugar. Then add 1/3 of the milk mix. Continue to alternate adding dry ingredients a quarter at a time and milk a third at a time ending with dry ingredients. For cupcakes, makes two dozen 2-inch cupcakes, bake for 20 minutes at 375 degrees.

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

