Gluten-free Monday: Peach Cobbler Mashup, Do and Redux (and Do Again . . . .)

So, some time ago, eons ago, in Blog Time, I did a Gluten-free Monday, in fact, one of the first Gluten posts I ever did, on converting my friend Bob’s cobbler recipe to gluten-free and comparing it to another gluten-free cobbler recipe.

Well, let’s fast forward to a few years later and I’m at the cobblering again. This time, I try a slightly different twist on gluten-free cobbler, merge my Simple and Bob’s Sophisticated recipe. Among other changes, I used a ceramic baking dish instead of a stainless steel frying pan.

I’ll spare you the details of my first attempt at merging these recipes.  I’m not completely sure what happened any of the times I made cobbler, but through my first redux, I realized I totally missed the boat on Bob’s Sophisticated cobbler the first time around. My latest experiments were a total disaster, barely edible even as food salvaging goes, but reviewing Bob’s posts, without question my earlier results were not even close to what I should have gotten.

Back to the drawing board. I took my raw Simple/Sophisticated Mashup recipe and adjusted it for high altitude—less liquid, less sugar, less leavening, higher cooking temperature. I wound up leaving it in the oven for 45 minutes. Second round—better, but still not great.

2nd cobbler

It is hard to tell from the picture, but the very center is still mushy and undercooked and the edges are a bit overcooked and dry.

 

Third Time is the Charm. This time I really hacked the liquid, the sugar, left the leavening where it was, and kept the higher temperature. I also went back to the stainless steel frying pan, and I was short on corn starch so substituted corn masa and gluten-free flour.

cake batter third try

cake batter third try

 

With the fruit, third try

With the fruit, third try

 

After 35 minutes in the oven, it was looking pretty good in the center.

 

final product, third try

final product, third try

 

After allowing it to cool, it tasted fine (although next time a teaspoon of vanilla might slip in), and was well cooked even in the middle. The cake was a little dry around the edges this time. There is probably space in this recipe for additional adjustment. I’m guessing reducing the cook temperature from 400 to 390 or maybe adding in a little more liquid (putting some milk back in) or both might help. Or maybe I should have taken it out of the oven at 30 minutes. Or maybe the ceramic dish would have made a difference. Either way, I am getting close to a delish dish. 🙂

 

Cobbler Mashup Recipe

Ingredients:

For cake –
1/3 cup King Arthur Gluten-Free flour
1/6 cup corn starch
1/2 cup corn masa
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 eggs
3/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons butter, softened
0 tablespoons milk

Fruit—
2 pounds ripe peaches
1 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 cup light brown sugar (a bit less)
¼ cup King Arthur gluten-free flour
2 leaves of fresh Sage

Directions

Bring the cake ingredients to room temperature. Soften the butter. Slice the fruits. Grease a 9 x 9 inch square pan or something like that. (Bob uses a 10-inch cast iron pan for this with excellent results.)

Mix the flour, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl, beat together eggs and 1 cup of the sugar. Add butter and milk. Add the flour mixture, stirring just to combine. Pour batter into greased pan.

Cook at 400 degrees for 35 minutes.

 

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

