Gluten-free Monday: You Can Do This at Home (?) Episode 2

So, following the “liquid diet” day, I did wake up hungry. The book I was using had multiple full day menus with recipes.   While some of them looked good, since this was a DIY effort, I decided to forge my own path forward. By reviewing the menus and recipes, I noticed that a lot of them were 1. Very low on dairy; 2. A lot of the meals were acidy; 3. There was some fat and dairy at the end of the day; and 4. The total calorie count said, “starvation.”

So, long story short, I kind of eyeballed the recipes in the Spa recipe book and made up my own “solid food” cleanse days that consisted of a little bit of yogurt here and there, veggie chili, egg noodles and beef stew. With a gluten-free gingerbread cookie or two thrown in for good measure. I would say don’t ask, but I know you want to; so, ask and I still won’t tell you.

Honestly, the solid food cleanse days were semi OK. I didn’t really stick to the calorie count, and by the end of it, I really wanted to hijack an ice cream truck, but other that it was actually semi-OK. What did happen is that I felt kinda tired and run down and was a bit cranky, which I think partially was about not drinking enough water. Also, I had a lot of fun dealing with all the weird stuff that happened, like having my nails turn yellow-brown, my skin get all flaky, oily gunk come out of my pores, having my skin itch and feeling exhausted. Honestly, I’m not sure how to describe how weird this process got at times, with stuff that almost looked like hair growing out of my skin and stuff oozing out from under my nails. Not to mention the black lines that filled in the creases in my palms.

It was truly weird, but honestly, I really did feel a lot better from it. And to a certain extent, I think it kind of got some stuff going that started pushing all of this stuff that doesn’t belong out of my system. I really did feel cleansed on the insides, like I’m cleaner now. Look at me, I’m squeaky clean!!!!

What I do have to say, is that while I thought the cleanse process was really valuable, I feel better and my skin rash started to heal, I’m not sure what I think of this as a do it at home project. Honestly, at some points, it was a bit scary and I’m not sure I was getting enough advice, exercise or hydrotherapy during the process and maybe it would have been better to have been at an actual spa. I think these places can be kind of expensive, but I’m almost thinking maybe it is worth it to find out how much these places actually charge and try it.

And I am surprised at how inspired I am by the cleanse menus to come up with my own cleanse recipes based on the basic principles of cleansing, from what I know.

I do think that the lack of dairy in most cleanse diets is both challenging and likely unhealthy long term. I celebrated ending my cleanse with a dairy binge, but that is me. Bottom line, these menus are *not* the way to eat every day or long term, they are low on calories and there doesn’t seem to be a lot of calcium or enough fat. However, I was surprised by the benefits of the cleanse process, even as a quick and dirty DIY project, enough that I might have to go pro next time.

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, People, Working and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

