Gluten-free Monday: Spa in Review or You Can Do This at Home (?) Episode 3

So, it has been about a month since I did my home cleanse. I do think I feel a lot better, my skin is certainly healthier, my digestion has improved, and I think I am a bit lighter and have a slimmer tummy than I did a month ago.

No, I have not lost 30 pounds, or even 20 or even 10. I maybe lost 3-5 pounds through this process. I think I have also seen the value of balancing acidy, salty, sweet and fatty foods, even though I am not sure that I complete understand it.

Looking back, it was a very difficult process. Setting up the juicing day and the two days of solid food cleanse was actually kind of fun and not too stressful, but the physical experience of a cleanse was challenging, and at some points, a bit scary. I think my gluten intolerance was part of the challenge, but even absent that, I found it physically stressful to get through even a day at home on a all fruit, all liquid diet and the sparse, low fat, almost zero dairy two day solid food days was challenging. I cannot emphasize enough that I threw the portions out the window, although I did try to keep the first day “proportionate” giving myself about 2-3 times the standard serving for each drink.

Also, I did not exercise as much as discussed in the Spa book, and exercising in a pool was completely precluded. Bathing did help a lot, although it was exhausting during the three day cleanse and I don’t think I did enough of it.

The cleanse also seemed to kickstart a continuing process of gunk coming out from under my nails as well as flaky skin that clears up quickly with a warm shower. It has never been as overwhelming as it was during the cleanse and a day or two afterward, but it has continued at a slower pace and can be a little freaky.

This experience really made me curious about the actual spa experience, although the price for multi-day stays at some of these resorts is a bit high. So, when I win Lotto. Of course, the websites and books make them sound like an awesome experience. Finger crossed for a Groupon or a good discount on a travel website?

Either way, I think that I am turned on to cleansing. I do think professional guidance is a must, even if it is just a book from a reliable experienced spa. I’m happy with the result, although, I think it will be a while—like a good six to twelve months—before I would attempt it on my own again, and I think I would like to find an affordable day experience, if nothing else.

Finally, I have to say, having done this, I’m a bit horrified by people who do cleanse days every month at home or do cleanse diets while they are working full time and commuting and sticking to a regular schedule. I never would have made it through the three days. And while many of these recipes are tasty (or at least look tasty!) I need a lot more calories. 😀

Episode 1

Episode 2

About missbodie

The Dragon Lady is a life long tea drinker. Her first coffee shops were Big Boy and the Oriental Diner in downtown Milwaukee. She lives in our Nation's Capital with three bicycles and an energetic tabby cat.
This entry was posted in Gluten-free, People and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

